Big Space and Good Things

I’m loving living in this little house. Compared to the two room apartment I moved from, it feels like a castle. I have an upstairs, a back yard, two bathrooms, and the kitchen sink is large enough for a 10″ skillet.

In the State Street apartment I learned how to cook in a tiny galley kitchen on a Murphy stovelette for four years, but now I’m cooking at an island with a view! When I told Pierre that it seemed like a long way from the stove to the sink, he just looked at me and reminded me that I didn’t have to walk at all in the old kitchen–just pivot and turn. It was truly great practice for cooking on a sailboat.

It makes me realize how the spaces we live in can end up shaping how we live. It feels like a huge exhalation, like I can spread out more, take up more room, use up two closets if I feel like it. I’ve never had this feeling before and I’m liking it. It makes my whole life feel larger and more expansive.

And that–as Martha would say–is a good thing.

2 Responses to Big Space and Good Things

  1. Pierre says:

    I can certainly empathize with having to work with a shoestring budget! I also found that people will start to give you things that they think would or could be useful. At first, you feel compelled to accept these things because, after all you’re a “first timer,” and all these other home owners know what you should have, and you can’t say no. Then word gets out, and like the plague, things begin to arrive. Not too quickly, but soon enough it’s like a tsunami, and instead of going to garage sales, you’re having your own.

  2. mariakristin says:

    When Peter & I moved into our house, I was so excited to have an upstairs and a real-life staircase! It’s amazing what you quickly appreciate. But beware: more space= more room to accumulate things!

Leave a Reply

