Holiday Ready

Now that I live in a real neighborhood, I’m thinking that I might get trick-or-treaters this year. Actually, there’s no “might” about it–I definitely will. I used to live in the back of an old brownstone downtown and the only people who hung out in the vestibule were homeless men looking for a warm spot to curl up. Needless to say, we didn’t answer doorbells much and I rarely saw children. Ever.

I’m not sure I’ll go all out and carve pumpkins, but I’ll stock up on some good candy and plug in my porch lights. I know, it’s weeks away and 75 degrees today.

What’s really evident, however, is that my procrastination has now reached new heights. Not only am I not doing the work that is sitting right in front of me, but I’m daydreaming about a minor holiday that involves squash and small children.

library-172.jpg

Leave a Reply

