Cold Hands, Hot Tea

Brrr! Have I mentioned how much I love my radiator heat? Granted, I keep it pretty cool in the house, but when I do turn that boiler on…oh how it rumbles and whistles!  In the meantime, I’ll just clutch my mug of tea. Which, by the way, totally takes me back to my attic-dwelling days of cold graduate school apartments.  I can’t tell you how many papers I’ve written wearing a hat, scarf, and study vest.  Come to think of it, I’ve been kind of chilly all day.  In a meeting this afternoon a colleague told me I should get those fingerless gloves like Bartleby the Scrivener.

But I prefer not to.

2 Responses to Cold Hands, Hot Tea

  1. kmiddleton says:

    Study vest? You have a study vest?!! When your indoor activities require specialized arctic outerwear, you know you’re in trouble…

  2. housegirrl says:

    The study vest has a long and colorful history in my family. The tradition was started by my father (you know, the guy who says “put a hat on.”) What does it mean when we realize we’re turning into our parents?

Leave a Reply

