Early Winter Fires

I took yesterday off from the daily insanity of November NaBloPoMo, but I have to admit I felt a little lonely.  So Pierre and I decided to break in the freshly cleaned chimney and build the first official Housegirrl fire.

As a Northcountry girl, you’d assume that I glory in kindling and bark-covered logs. You would think that by now I’d have honed the art of starting the draft, building the triangle base, and knowing how to open the flue. But the truth of the matter is that I’m actually a big fan of fake fire. DuraFlame is my fire of choice: quick, reliable, and done in 3 hours.

But for the first fire we built a real fire. And it was beautiful.

fire.jpg

4 Responses to Early Winter Fires

  1. Aimee says:

    ooooh! pretty, what a pretty floor you have too.

  2. Marilyn says:

    Oh, so toasty and lovely! Enjoy it.

  3. dad says:

    and so you feature both fire and floor! nice looking room, a place in which one could probably live comfortably in the present, meditate, do a little yoga–at least while the logs lasted.

  4. Sarah says:

    Ooooh, I dream of the day I will have a fireplace like this! Looks so cozy — I hope you had a cup of hot chocolate or a glass of wine by it!

Leave a Reply

