Two of Us

It’s been a hectic week here at my house.  It was the first week of the spring semester so there was the usual flurry of last-minute xeroxing, syllabus-tweaking, emailing panicked advisees, and getting back in the groove of things.

In the midst of all this, Pierre and Pasha moved down and added a lot of warmth and energy to my solitary space.  We thought the cat would spend the first week in the basement–traumatized and mewing–but lo and behold, within 20 minutes he was lolling around and loving us up.  We think he loves all the people, attention, music, and good cooking smells.

Pierre is still holding strong with the massive sling and his one-armed existence. Right now, in fact, I do believe he’s outside shoveling.

The one who’s been a bit traumatized is me. I hadn’t realized how much I’d grown accustomed to my own space, time, and way of living.  So I’ll be learning a lot about change, adapting and growing.   The man is amazing–he makes me breakfast, does my laundry, and folds my clothes in a manner they’ve never known before.  He’s also fixed the broken front door, gotten a bigger coffee maker, and bought a matching sweatsuit on sale at Target for our new gym membership. Life is good.

One Response to Two of Us

  1. Aimee says:

    Ah, adjustments of living together… I remember them well. 🙂 Good luck, and just take everything with a sense of humor and I promise it will go much smoother.

Leave a Reply

