Smalls Part II

In the daily stress of teaching, writing, cooking, cleaning, I sometimes forget that small things can make a huge difference in my day. On some level, we all know this. But what I’m continually amazed at is how easy I forget this simple fact. It’s like how I have to keep re-reading The Power of Now because it’s erased from my mind as soon as I put the book down. I guess that’s just a great example of how practice works and why it’s called “practice.” So here’s a list of smalls that I’ve recently remembered I’d forgotten:

  • The physical bliss of a new pair of running shoes
  • A fresh bar of Dove soap
  • An issue of Real Simple in the mailbox
  • The first sip of coffee in the morning
  • Morning
  • Clean sheets
  • Socks knit for me by my mom
  • Starbucks chai latte with soy milk
  • Noodles
  • Having an upstairs and a downstairs
  • John Prine
  • Those daycare buggies carrying a six-pack of small children
  • The color pink

Here’s to keeping our eyes open for the smalls that make us smile.

Leave a Reply

