Bound for the Big Easy

So, here’s a problem for you. I’m heading down to New Orleans on Tuesday for a conference where I’m giving a paper with two of my intrepid colleagues. We’re each exploring an aspect of writing pedagogy where old and new media collide (a la Henry Jenkins).

Whatev.

My real issue is this: what to wear.

Instead of finishing my paper or re-reading Jenkins, I’m crusing the internet checking out weather, possible restaurants, and the music scene. According to weather.com, it’s supposed to be 79 degrees. Yet I’m always suspicous of forecasts. For one thing, just because the weather’ s warm doesn’t mean that I’ll be. I’m cold blooded, plus I’ve got those winter white legs permanently lined from my Smart Wools. Don’t even get me started on my toenails.

Can I wear clogs in the south? Will they laugh at me?

2 Responses to Bound for the Big Easy

  1. Carol says:

    You WILL get hot there, even though its winter where you are. Those Spring conferences in NO, the weather always seems WARMER than the forecast temps. I would bring a pair of cropped pants, as folks in the south have never STOPPED wearing them (and now they are back in style anyway…) and bring a longer skirt (hopefully black) for going out, you can ditch the hose/legwear when you get hot and wear those clogs. They are boho down there and anything goes! And jeans of course.

  2. housegirrl says:

    Thanks for the good ideas! It’s hard to imagine being warm right now, but I’m looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

