Daily Bunny

I’ve been thinking about getting a pet–maybe a dog, maybe a cat– but now that I have a daily visit from Ruth, I may not need to.  Every morning the little brown bunny is somewhere in my backyard and she’s not afraid of me (first thing in the morning–me with bedhead, sweatpants, and rubber clogs–I’d run!). We even have a routine. I bang on the window, she freezes in her tracks, and I try to chase her away. She has huge black eyes, a twitching nose, and mottled brown fur. She can’t access any of my garden greens, so what is she eating? She’s clearly responsible for leveling all my April daffodils and crocuses, but I can’t figure out what she’s after now. Mint? My baby basil? Sonovabitch. She’s after my basil…

2 Responses to Daily Bunny

  1. jenn says:

    try planting something that the rabbit can eat that grows rapidly in an area opposite your plants you don’t want it to eat. Something like a fast growing lettuce would be good, since it ( the lettuce and the rabbit)keeps coming back.

  2. housegirrl says:

    Defensive gardening!! Love it.

Leave a Reply

