Back To The Garden!

It’s both exciting and humbling to see what happens to your garden when you’re away for a week. My scallions, radishes, spinach, beets, chard, and baby lettuces look great. And the rabbit-proof fence is working like a charm. Yesterday I glanced out the window and saw Ruth (the bunny) sitting with her face pressed up against the chicken-wire fence.  Success!

I put in my tomatoes and peppers and even rigged up the protective blanket for them using green twine and found stakes. Then I planted the Red Russian kale and broccoli. It feels kind of like playing the slot machines (not that I’ve ever actually done that) by planting tiny seeds, covering them with soil, and hoping they grow.  It’s just a continuation of that second-grade science experiment involving sweet peas in styrofoam cups.

It finally feels like summer: I’ve got a growing “To Do” list that includes life maintenance chores (renew licences), a bunch of painting projects,  and a trip to the library to stock up on summer reading. I’ve been reading Easter Everywhere:A Memoir, but found it a bit uneven. I just ordered a used copy of The Tenth Muse: My Life in Food. Because let’s face it–summer reading means food reading.

Leave a Reply

