Painting project #1

It turns out that painting is like everything else in life.  Once you’re in the groove, it’s fine, but getting started is hell.  Since I’d been living in blissful denial, it’d been a while since I was doing any major daily painting.  I unearthed my painting duds, bought some more exterior latex semi-gloss, rediscovered my favorite brush, and clipped on my shuffle. Good to go.

I was about half way through This American Life when I remembered how important prep work is. You know, the scraping, priming, and cleaning part. Oh yeah.  After a few false starts and lots of neon Mr. Clean scrubbing, I think the porch and I are off and running.  I’d also forgotten the motto of house painters everywhere: There’s no such thing as one coat of paint. Good to know.

Leave a Reply

