Progress: It ain’t always what you think

Lately I’ve been realizing that much of the work I do around the house is about getting rid of stuff. Half of what I do is scrape, gut, clear, and throw away. Take, for instance, the old moldy garage. It feels like progress because all that’s left are the rotten moldy rafters. But nothing’s been added or repaired or replaced. Just removed and added to the local landfills. So it may not look like much, but it’s an improvement!

Unfortunately, the repair estimate that came in was–to my mind–extremely overpriced at almost $4000. It seems like an awful lot of cash for some new wood and asphalt roofing. So now I’m in the market for a lower offer. It doesn’t need to be perfect, it just needs to be water resistant.

Or even just water repellant. Hell, I’m not proud.

One Response to Progress: It ain’t always what you think

  1. retepsnave says:

    ewww… that does look like a lot of rot on the ends of the rafters and the sill-plate! wow the roof must have been in lousy shape for a long time!

Leave a comment