On Routine

They say that getting a puppy is good practice for having kids.  I can see the similarities: working on potty, creating and maintaining some kind of reliable schedule, taking morning naps, making time for play, etc. My four-legged baby and I are finally settling into a groove and she’s even learning to heel on that miracle harness. And, unlike a kid, I can tempt her with a peanut butter-filled Kong and lure her into her crate while I go to work for 4 hours at a time. She may not like it, but she’s got to get used to it.

The trick is not to try and do too many things at once. Dogs live in the here-and-now and that’s got to be one of the best things about them in the world. By working with Daisy and letting her explore her boundaries and learn her limitations, she’s teaching me patience and presence. I think. I hope.

And I even got an estimate (finally) on the bathroom and am hoping to get into the handyman’s schedule for early October. Here’s to persistence and patience in all things.

One Response to On Routine

  1. Jennifer says:

    Ah, puppies. When we got ours I said I would never do it again. 2 years later, it’s a little more appealing again!

Leave a Reply

