Bathroom update

All last week I had anywhere from two to three men crowded into my upstairs bathroom. Here are the final results–prior to painting. (And here’s what it looked like all year.) I’m basically happy with everything except that I went with a cheap medicine cabinet to fit into the existing hole–which was never centered and always wrong. So now, the lights and medicine chest look crowded to me. Thoughts?

9 Responses to Bathroom update

  1. retepsnave says:

    ugh!
    sorry that the bathroom project wasn’t perfect… sadly they never are!

    those old holes from the old medicine cabinets are sadly no longer standard size… often times we’ve opted to cover over the opening and go with a surface mount medicine cabinet… I’d found a nice one at Lowes (I think) that had a old fashioned look and it has a second mirror inside the door too… kind of nice when Maria works on her hair, etc.

    but sadly that means more drywall dust and paint…

    the floor looks nice!

  2. housegirrl says:

    I think I know the medicine cabinet you’re talking about! I saw it at Lowe’s and then realized it was a surface mount. But it was affordable and I’m going to go with it and give up on the recessed one.

  3. laura says:

    I’m wondering if you painted that wooden outer layer around the cabinet–would it look better? It sounds like you’ve already arrived at a solution. Best to get it the way you want it now or else you’ll only see the parts you don’t like. The wainscoting and floor look lovely! Just that last piece about the cabinet and it’ll be just the way you want it!

  4. maria says:

    congrats. i love it! esp. the floor. i think the lighting looks fine, it goes with the circular patterns of the floor. next year i’m redoing my bath, finally! and am going to use a vintage black and white tile floor with the wainscoting, very much like the ol’ digs at 304 st.!

  5. housegirrl says:

    Nice! I think 304 was in my mind too as I was remodeling the bath. How are you?!!!

  6. yo sista says:

    I agree with Mom – I think if you painted over the wood part around the mirror it would bring it all together. I don’t think it looked too crowded – what’s wrong with having a great big bathroom mirror? And think of all the extra work to cover the hole…just my thought…

  7. yo sista says:

    oh ya – and I love, LOVE the floor!!

  8. Randi says:

    I’d like to know what the dog bowl is doing next to the sink? Do you brush your teeth together? 🙂

  9. Randi says:

    Oh and it looks fabulous.

Leave a Reply

